Schoolhouse Saturday – Unknown School

It’s fun to go out exploring.  Taking the road less traveled, instead of staying on the freeway, allows me to really see all the beauty that our country has to offer.  As an added bonus, I suspect there are very few one room schools located right of the interstate (although, I have managed to find a few this way).  While traveling through Idaho on the way to Utah, I saw a road named School House Rd.  Now, I’ve learned that if I am looking for a covered bridge, I should look for a road called Covered Bridge Rd (or Ave, or Lane…..you get the idea).  I’ve also turned down some other roads that have been named School House Rd and have been lucky enough to find a school on a couple of them.  I decided to turn the car around and explore down School House Rd to see, if by chance, there was an old school down it.  It wasn’t long before I spotted a building in the distance, and sure enough, as I drove the car closer, there was a school sitting there on the corner.

Historic Idaho School

                                                                 Historic Idaho School

As of yet, I haven’t been able to find any information on this school (I’ll update this post if I do). It appears to be in pretty good shape, and there were signs of some restoration work taking place.  It just goes to show, you never know what you are going to find when you take the road less traveled.

Until the next adventure….

Leave a Reply

