Caught in the Middle…

A cattle drive headed down the road.

Caught in the middle … of a cattle drive

On a recent seventeen day road trip to southern Utah, we turned off of Interstate 84 in eastern Oregon in search of a one room school that was east of Baker City a little ways.  As we turned on to a road that looked like it would take us near where we thought the school might be, we found ourselves caught behind a cattle drive.  Now I have to admit, living in western Washington I’ve seen my fair share of cows, but I never thought the day would come when I’d be behind a cattle drive as it was progressing up the road.  One of the cowboys was on a four-wheeler and motioned us to follow him as he proceeded to cut a path through the herd and we slowly started making our way through.  However, as the cows in front were getting out of the way of the cowboy, the cows behind the quad were closing in around all four sides of the car.  There we were, going about five miles an hour and trying not to hit a cow while trying to pick our way through.  The cows would get close and then veer out of the way again as if they were trying to determine just what we were.  It wasn’t too long before another cowboy, this time on horseback, took pity on us and opened up the path again allowing us to get through.  After thanking them both, we set out towards our destination:

Blue-Mountain-School

Blue Mountain School

The Blue Mountain School is located in Baker County, Oregon, east of Baker City.  According to the sign on the building, it was in operation from 1915-1949.  It appears that it has been being used as a storage facility for a neighboring farm for quite some time, judging from the farm equipment sitting near it and the debris lying around it.  As of yet, I haven’t been able to find any other information on the school itself.

 

On a side note…

I’ve decided to change the format of this blog up a little bit.  For some reason, I never seem to have as much time as I would like to write it and by the time I get around to actually editing the photos for it and coming up with something to say, the adventure I’m writing about has been lost behind my newer and more recent adventures.  With that being said, my plan is to start writing shorter posts, albeit more frequently, with just an image or two from that particular part of the adventure.  Quite often, I visit more than one place a day when I’m on a road trip and by sharing a smaller portion of it at one time, I hope that this blog will be easier to read and inspire you to take some back roads on your own adventures…. you never know what you will find!

 

Until the next adventure….

Leave a Reply

