Take a Walk…on the Lady Bird Johnson Grove Nature Trail

My last hike of the day was to be a short one on the Lady Bird Johnson Grove Nature Trail in Redwood National & State Parks.  Walking through this particular grove is like a walk back in time.  In the 1920’s, as the realization that old-growth redwood forests were disappearing at an alarming rate, three state parks were established, with the establishment of Redwood National Park occurring in 1968.  The Lady Bird Johnson Grove was established in 1969 when Presidents Nixon and Johnson, along with Governor Reagan, dedicated a 300-acre grove to Lady Bird Johnson and her campaign to preserve America’s natural beauty.

The bridge from the parking lot to the start of the nature trail.

The bridge from the parking lot to the start of the nature trail.

As I crossed the bridge over Bald Hill Road to get to the grove, I marveled at how quiet the forest was.  Because it was close to sunset, I had the entire grove to myself, the only sounds were of the wind blowing through the trees and the birds singing the songs.  The was no road noise from passing cars and no words were carried through the air from other conversations taking place.

A place to stop, sit, and take it all in...

A place to stop, sit, and take it all in…

The fog started rolling in as I wandered the path into the main part of the grove, stopping at each number to read the corresponding section in the pamphlet I picked up at the beginning of the trail.  It wasn’t long before I came upon this bench and took a moment to just stop and listen to the sounds (or lack of them) around me.

 

_S3A0192

_S3A0201

 

The fog started getting thick and the light was fast disappearing so I didn’t have as much time to linger as I would like.  I snapped as many images of the trees in the fog as I could before it got dark as I didn’t know if there would be fog again in the morning or at any other time during my short time in the park.

The fog rolls in among the trees in Lady Bird Johnson Grove.

The fog rolls in among the trees in Lady Bird Johnson Grove.

The short walk didn’t take too long to complete, and before you knew it, I was making my way back down the mountain in the darkness, ready to start another day of adventure in the morning.

 

Until the next adventure…

 

 

Leave a Reply

